duermemucho's diary

duermemucho's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

macarena

Quote of the day: "It's always amusing to see how enthusiastically the political right has embraced postmodernism."

*************

If (hypothetically) I were to move in with Lark, would I be committing treason against my worries? I've spent a lot of time in this and (especially) my previous journal talking about how much I despise the idea of "family" and how it tethers people to places and situations that do not serve them well. But now the thought of a family, or maybe just something similar to a family, doesn't sound so bad anymore. There's comfort in knowing certain people will be there when you get home at the end of the day. I won't have to suffer the internal embarrassment of watching Mr. Show DVD's by myself, or shopping by myself all the time. As for the "responsibilities", I'm already heading in that direction irrespective of my relationships.

Lark and I had dinner with the Southern coworker (henceforth "Pelican") and his wife last week, and they're one of the very, very few married couples I've met for whom I don't detect any buried tension or bitterness between them. Bitterness has always been my fear in relationships, and the possibility of it arising later has kept me from pursuing many relationships I probably should have, and kept me in relationships that never should have been. Is this a positive sign, that fear of resentment is no longer at the top of my list of motivators?

On the other hand, dinner with Pelican was stiflingly white-collar. I don't have any stomach for formalities. My "family" would have no dinner table and no acceptable evening conversation, I can decide right now.

**************

My mother sent me a forwarded chain email. Yes. I emailed her to ask if she'd actually sent it, figuring it was a virus, and she confirmed. I guess she's anticipating five or so years from now when stuff from the mid-90's will be considered "retro". Very forward-looking of you, mom. Shall we Macarena?

5:24 p.m. - 2007-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

teachin-usa
revisions
reynedecoupe
unclepumpkin
heckafresh
kaffeine
normaltoilet
phonejockey
jessamine79
mavenhaven
yamaa
iamlearning
passthrufire
phdlife
protonpump